Homemade BBQ Sauce

I am pleased to say that although a had a huge variety of sauces on the table, including three bottles of BBQ, the only BBQ sauce that was eaten was the one I made. BBQ sauce served warm is so tasty.

Ingredients

2 cups tomato sauce (I used Heinz)
1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar (I used light brown)
2 tablespoons mustard powder
2 bay leaves
2 cloves garlic
2 dashes Worcestershire sauce
2 drops of Tabasco sauce
2 tablespoons unsalted butter

Method

1. Put all of the ingredients above into a medium saucepan and heat over a medium heat and bring to the boil.

2. Stir the ingredients using a rubber spatula, especially round the edges of the saucepan.

3. Place a lid on the saucepan and reduce the heat to low and allow the mixture to simmer for about an hour, remove the lid about every 15 minutes and stir the mixture together.

4. Remove the bay leaves and the garlic cloves from the sauce and serve immediately.
P1050184
5. This sauce can also be served cold. It’s ok to be kept in the fridge for up to two weeks.

Delicious sauce that just topped the smoked pork and chicken thighs off a treat.

About emrothwell

Hi, my name is Emma, wife to a wonderful husband, part time employee of an accountancy firm and part time writer. Whilst following the Weight Watchers diet last year I discovered that I enjoyed making my own sweet treats rather than buying the small and disappointing ones in the shops. Weight Watchers may be a bit of a distant memory (oops) but my love of baking has grown and hopefully you will join me as I get more adventurous with my creations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment