Tomato Soup Cake

I immediately confess that I completely forgot to take a photo of this cake when it was finished but it looked good and it does taste really nice despite what you might think given the ingredients.

I think it’s good to keep experimenting with cooking and flavours as life gets boring if we eat the same things day in and day out.  I had heard about a tomato soup cake so I thought, why not, let’s give it a go and see what it’s like.

Ingredients

2 cups of sugar
6 tablespoons of butter
2 eggs
1 tin of tomato soup
2 teaspoons of bicarbonate of soda
2 teaspoons of vanilla essence
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
1 teaspoon of nutmeg
1 teaspoon of cloves
2 cups of raisins/sultanas/currants (mix and match as to what you like best)
3 cups of plain flour

Method

  1. Cream together the sugar and butter.
  2. Add the eggs and mix thoroughly – if the mixture starts to split add a few spoons of your flour.
  3. Add the soup and mix well.
  4. Fold in the remaining dry ingredients.
  5. Fold in the fruit.
  6. Split the mixture into two loaf tins and bake at 180 deg c (fan oven) for about 45 minutes – until a skewer comes out clean.  If the tops of the cakes start to colour too much then cover with foil while they bake.
  7. Once cooled the cakes can have a cream cheese topping.  I used 2 cups of icing sugar, 1/2 teaspoon of milk and 90g of cream cheese.

I took these cakes to a family celebration and they were incredibly popular.  It wasn’t until people had tasted them that I told them they were more than just a fruit cake.  I tasted the cakes and can confirm that they don’t taste like tomato soup, if you didn’t know then you would never guess.

This is the mix – sorry there’s no picture of the cake but next time I make it I’ll take one!P1010635

 

About emrothwell

Hi, my name is Emma, wife to a wonderful husband, part time employee of an accountancy firm and part time writer. Whilst following the Weight Watchers diet last year I discovered that I enjoyed making my own sweet treats rather than buying the small and disappointing ones in the shops. Weight Watchers may be a bit of a distant memory (oops) but my love of baking has grown and hopefully you will join me as I get more adventurous with my creations.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cake, cooking, Diet, Dinner, Dinner Party, life, meals, recipe, shopping, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment